Videogames!

Here’s an essay I had to write for school, I thought it would be lulz to post it here. Hope you like it 🙂

-Maxic

Videogames don’t kill people, people do.

When something terrible happens people need an explanation, this is a logical reaction but it often results in a mistake. Take the Virginia tech massacre for example: A 23-year-old student called Cho Seung-Hui shot 32 teachers and fellow students. After doing this, he shot himself before the police got to him. After investigating his room, they found that Cho used to play videogames, and this of course had a lot to do with the shooting. So according to the police, playing videogames now results in running into your college building wielding two handguns while shooting your fellow students.

You’d think that any human being with an IQ higher than two digits would laugh at this and start looking for the real reason. Of course people understand that videogames aren’t the sole motivation, but there are still a lot of people that think it has a big influence. I’m not one of them. For me, videogames are a way of relaxing. After a long day at school or a hard night at work it helps to go online and shoot a few people, it just makes falling asleep a lot easier, you know?

Aside from the fact that it clearly doesn’t affect me (you’re still alive aren’t you?), it’s just another accusation based on nothing other than fear and despair. We’ve all seen it happening with music, movies and TV. Actually, some of those are still going strong; people who listen to Marilyn Manson are bound to pick up a gun someday, right? A clockwork Orange ruined an entire generation and Jackass is probably responsible for half of America’s inmates.

That just made me think of another reason: why do you think Americans are especially so keen on blaming the media and now games? It takes the attention away from their precious magnums and awesome AK-47’s. Most Americans are very attached to their firearms, and even the ones that think maybe America should do something about the gun laws say: “Hell no! I aint givin up my shotgun!”

How about looking at yourself before blaming ‘the new things that those darn kids do nowadays’. I might want to stop myself here though or it’ll get a little cliché and nobody wants that, I, unlike some other people, like to keep my credibility by sounding somewhat, I don’t know, smart?

What I’m trying to say is, I like to pwn n00bs, I really do. And there will be hell to pay before some stupid people will take this away from me, just because of some idiotic reason with no facts to back it up. Not even a religious one (I’m very glad God is so ignorant about videogames). So next time you got a mentally ill boy like Cho at one end of the street, and a gun shop at the other, you do the math.

1 comment so far

  1. Zors on

    To quote bash.org:

    “Games don’t make people violent, lag does.”


Leave a Reply

